Basic Timer Setup

th1nker

Hi all,

I have a DL06DD1 which I am learning to program with DirectSOFT. I've managed to get it to work with output and some basic switch inputs but I would like to learn how to use timers. I basically want to open the switch and have Y10 output power for a given time. I've looked at TMRA but I can't seem to get it to work.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Luke

excellent info on their website

Luke,

I'm a novice user of AD plc's, and I've found their example programs extremely helpful. Check out their website at automationdirect.com

Here's a link to their sample programs page --> http://support.automationdirect.com/examples.html

There are a few timer program samples in it.

Also, AD has their own forum (many of us double dip there too) where you can get help as well.

Good Luck,

Mike

The DirectLogic PLCs have two timers. One is a standard timer, TMR, which resets itself when the input to the timer is off. As soon as the input turns off the accumulated time drops to zero.

The second is the Accumulating Timer, TMRA, which maintains the accumulated time until the actual reset is turned on. That means that the accumultated timer is like an hour meter, that increases when the input (top rung) is on and keeps the value when it is off.

AutomationDirect does not have an "Off Delay". If that is what you want, I can show you how to roll your own.

I've managed to get it to work by doing the following,

ladder.gif

I think I'm suffering from not really understanding the logic behind programming with ladders. I've been coding computer languages for so long it's taking a while to get used to this.

Is there a better way of creating an off delay?

Cheers, Luke

Tom, I had that link 'handy' only because the off-delay topic came up recently at the A-D forum... ;)

Luke, realize that your 'unconditional' timer will only operate once when you switch to run... :(