ControlLogix 5000: AOI Bitword Input?

Colt Hero

I'm not a PLC programmer, so bear with me here ...

I was making an AOI with a bunch of BOOL inputs and realized some of them were actually Options, so I thought it would be better to pack them into a bitword called "Options" that was a UDT with each bit clearly labeled with its own name.

But then I tried to add this UDT to the AOI and it told me I couldn't do it because the type wasn't one of the system integral types (ie: BOOL, INT, DINT, etc.). Huh?

So ... does this mean I'd have to use an INT instead (with the system-assigned generic names ??) or would I have to use aliases somehow to make it clearer? Is that how I'd do this?

You can use User Defined tag in AOI as In/Out parameter that is defined by reference. This is similar to “pointer” in other languages.

Yeah ... I guess I'm just doing this because it's what I'd normally do elsewhere for "code tidiness"? To me, a bunch of related bit flags should be stored in a single data word, not as individual variables (or tags), but maybe I'm just being too anal.

So a UDT *can* be used ... as long as it is defined as an "In/Out" parameter? But if it's like a pointer, does that change the way I reference it in the PLC logic (syntax-wise), or is this handled implicitly by the PLC "compiler"?

Originally posted by Colt Hero:

So a UDT *can* be used ... as long as it is defined as an "In/Out" parameter? But if it's like a pointer, does that change the way I reference it in the PLC logic (syntax-wise), or is this handled implicitly by the PLC "compiler"?

Aside from selecting the use as In/Out there are no syntax implications to this. You use the In/Out tag the same way you would any other tag. The Logix processors don't have any explicit "pointer" operations. That is all taken care of under the hood when it happens.