Ladder Logic - 'Simple' Coffee Machine - Optional: Add Milk / Add Sugar

flipd.d.mon

I'm just starting to learn Ladder Logic Programming. I'm using Allen Bradley RSLogix 5000.

I've been tasked with developing a 'Simple' Coffee Machine which operates like so:

• Toggle Push Button to Start
  • Drop Cup (for 10 seconds)
  • Feed Hot Water (for 10 seconds)
  • If required, Add Milk (for 10 seconds)
  • If required, Add Sugar (for 10 seconds)
  • Procedure Complete - Illuminate Complete Light (for 10 seconds)

I have implemented everything except the OPTIONAL add Milk & OPTIONAL add Sugar.

Options are to have a Coffee without either Milk or Sugar. Or have a Coffee with Milk and Not Sugar. Or have a Coffee with Sugar & Not Milk.

I'm considering using Toggle Buttons to select / jump to a Subroutine (choosing the required ingredient make-up). But I'm wondering if there is another way to sequentially go through the procedure?

Thanks.
zUJ5N.png

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/...le-coffee-machine-optional-add-milk-add-sugar

I would simply add a pushbutton for each option, then handle these pushbuttons like you did the first one. Lock out the "Add Milk" and "Add Sugar" until the cup is in place. You don't really need a separate subroutine for any of this. Only add subroutines if you simply want to learn how they work. Subroutines will make it more difficult for you to troubleshoot the program, and to find your logic errors.

One thing you need to do is to set up a "Transaction in Process" relay on your first rung that is activated by the Start Pushbutton. This is a relay that should actiavte each following rung, and stay ON until it is turned off by the "Transaction Complete" light. That way, anyone walking up to the machine cannot activate the coffe, milk, or sugar dispensing solenoids without first putting in some money (pressing the start button).