S7-300 Addressing...I am new to Siemens

SNK

I am an Allen Bradley programmer, and have recently been asked to work with some of the Siemens S7 stuff for work.

My question is simple. Is the addressing for PI devices the same as I would expect on a S7-300 rack as an allen bradley SLC or Contrologix system? Maybe this will make my question easier to understand.

Slot 0 Power Supply
Slot 1 CPU S7-300
Slot 2 Profibus/MPI
Slot 3 MI module
Slot 4 Digital Input module
Slot 5 Digital Output Module

Basically, how do I address the first digital INPUT module in the program? Is the first byte of I0.0 and the second I1.0?
And the Output in card slot 5 Q0.0 and Q1.0?

In AB world, we reference with the card slot... eg I:4.0/0 and O:5.0/0

Furthermore, is there any set pattern that the I/O cards have to be set up on the local rack???
In my first attempt today to program, I cannot get the I/O cards to work properly online.

I have downloaded the S7-300 manual, but it does not go into detail about the specifics of rack location and addressing.

Thanks for any insight people.

kcarlen

Welcome to the wonderful world of Siemens PLCs.

When you set up your PLC rack in the hardware configuration, the software gives the I/O modules default addresses, have another look at the hardware setup and this will tell you the address that you are looking for.

The I/O does indeed go in bytes e.g I0.0 .. I0.7 then I1.0 .. I1.7 and so on, outputs are addressed the same, but using Q. There is no set pattern that the I/O cards have to be set up in the rack, but if you attempt to put a 'card' in a wrong location the software will tell you.

Is this the manual that you are using? This manual is the instruction list set for the S7300 range.

Paul

Thanks Paul.
The manual that you have linked me to is not the same as the s7-300 setup manual that I received. I am at home now, and I don't have a copy of the download in front of me.
I am still not 100% clear on the addressing scheme.