Free PLC programming software question

surferb

Lifetime Supporting Member
I'm no lawyer by any means. I was wondering if there would be any legal ramifications (ie justifiable means of getting sued) by writing an Open Source PLC programming software package. Let's use AB SLCs and RSLogix 500 as an example (only because I'm familiar with them - freely replace with Vendor X). Specifically, AB doesn't release any specs for how programming software communicates to devices. This would undoubtedly require extensive work with a packet sniffer. I don't think you would need to reverse engineer RSLogix itself - only be familiar with what the program does.

So take this fantasy a bit farther. If such a mature project opens up on sourceforge, could AB shut them down or legitimately threaten with litigation?

This is merely a curiosity, prompted by this post.

Not sure... but I know that there are some 'after market' programming packages for other PLC's (ie S5 and S7 for Windows) I am sure that Siemens knows about it... but they let them market and sell it ?? why know one jumped on AB's I don't know??

The really, really old AB documentation had all you needed to write your own software. I'm talking PLC2 era here, though. I don't know that the PLC interface has changed much, but it could have.

I alwys thought the info was "out there", as there have been other software vendors for AB up until recently.

I think this would be very tough to accomplish without insider knowledge (code). Plus a simple firmware update could potentially invalidate all the effort.

OG

I'm not a lawyer so take this for what it's worth. I don't think there is anything they can do about that particular scenario. You haven't copied any code or tried to decompile it. You are simply listening to communications. I don't think there is anything particularly illegal about that.