animation/image questions

arrin

Hello everyone. I am a graphic artist with a background in Mac and Adobe software, so I might just be about as far out of my element as I could possibly be. I have been commissioned to create new graphics for a client that are more closely suited to their clients needs. The software that they want to use these graphics in is FactoryTalk View SE 10 with Symbol Factory embedded within it. I have done some research and digging and have a few questions that I just cannot seem to come up with the answers for. Perhaps someone might have an answer or two or be able to point me in the right direction.
1. When I import Png files they import with a transparent background as they are supposed to but the box they are placed into cannot be transparent. They are placed into a box and I can chose which color to make that box but it has to be a color. I need that box to be transparent.
2. It would seem as though I can only import images into Symbol Factory if I have a full version of the software. Does anyone know if I can import my own SVG files (or other file extensions) into this embedded version. If so, how or where can I learn how?
3. Does anyone have experience bringing their own graphics/images into the full version of SF? If so, what are your thoughts? Is it worth the cost of the software to be able to import your own graphics/images?
4. I cannot figure out how to see what the file extensions are definitively for FactoryTalk images. Seems like they are gifs in FT and svg files in SF. Can anyone confirm that I have this information correct?
Because I am new to all of this I might not understand the jargon, feel free to dumb it down.

2. In FactoryTalk View Studio, with Symbol Factory open, you can import additional symbols under the File menu. This can import files or type .wmf, .bmp, .gif, and .jpg. There are also some items in Studio in the Library section

3.jpg