Editing AOI's in RS LOGIX 5000

dalcoleman

Hi everybody I am a beginner in the PLC world at least when it comes to making changes and edits. I want to edit some timer values inside an AOI and was wondering if I could get some tips or things to consider from some of you more experienced controls guys. I guess some specific questions I have would be, if I change a timer preset value will it make that change to every AOI in the program (this is an AOI used in multiple routines). I only want to change it in one of the routines at least for now so I can verify smooth operation. As I understand you can only edit AOI's offline? So go offline type in new value into the MOV instruction that sends it to the timer preset then download it? Thanks!

Hi everybody I am a beginner in the PLC world at least when it comes to making changes and edits. I want to edit some timer values inside an AOI and was wondering if I could get some tips or things to consider from some of you more experienced controls guys. I guess some specific questions I have would be, if I change a timer preset value will it make that change to every AOI in the program (this is an AOI used in multiple routines). I only want to change it in one of the routines at least for now so I can verify smooth operation. As I understand you can only edit AOI's offline? So go offline type in new value into the MOV instruction that sends it to the timer preset then download it? Thanks!

-If you change a timer preset value, it will make the change to every AOI in the program, if the timer .pre is a Local tag inside the AOI.
-Correct, you can only edit AOI's offline
-I recommend saving a copy of the original AOI before you make any offline edits
-Another thing to consider, is making the timer .pre into a Input parameter of the AOI, then the value can be modified as needed every time you use the AOI.