You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 3rd, 2003, 05:40 PM   #1
Goody
Member
United Kingdom

Goody is offline
 
Goody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Huddersfield W Yorks UK
Posts: 1,081
PLC with no mains supply

Today I was called to a customer with an electrical fault on a machine. I have specialized a little on this type of machine and I have also written a program to retro-fit these machines, so I was glad to go. (I smelled a plc sale)

When I opened the control cabinet, There was already a plc doing the biz in there. (ah well, never mind, just repair the fault) The PLC was an old Mitsubishi F1.

As I was tracing the wiring (not a drawing or nowt you know) I looked at this plc and there was no mains voltage to it.
There were inputs and outputs wired and the outputs had a common 240V supply.
The mains voltage terminals had options for 240V and 110V but there was no wires in those terminals at all.
The plc had no lights on as the problem was with the main power contactor not coming on.

I found the fault (mangled wire) and put the power on.
The plc sprang to life with inputs and outputs going on and off but still with no supply to the L1 N1 N2 terminals.

I then found that there was another 24VDC supply and this fed the plc's 24VDC service supply. (the one you use for inputs)

This must be able to supply the plc with what it needed through the back door, because it works fine and the age of the plc means it must have been working fine for years. Has anyone seen this before?

I scratched my head for a good while. I was sure either the plc was not used or someone had been messing..............
  Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2003, 05:45 PM   #2
rsdoran
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rsdoran is offline
 
rsdoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 7,372
You may want to check the specs on that Goody, alot of the older models had the option of using ac or dc, when ac was used the dc side could be used as a power supply but you could use a dc power source to power them with no ac applied. I dont know mitsi but many other brands did this.
__________________
http://www.patchn.com Industrial Electrical & Maintenance @ www.patchn.com "Tell me and I forget, show me and I remember, involve me and I understand."
  Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2003, 07:07 AM   #3
Rick Densing
Member
United States

Rick Densing is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,538
I can second that. No direct experience with the F1, but I have seen (and used) AC/DC devices set up that way.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2003, 11:18 AM   #4
Platootod
Member
Thailand

Platootod is offline
 
Platootod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mechatronics RIT.Non
Posts: 215
Cool

Hi goody,
Sometimes Old better than New.
As I have use Mitsi F1 with a liitle High temp and dusty
still fine for nearly 10 years.

platootod
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mitsubishi problem gunther LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 June 17th, 2006 09:01 AM
AB PLC, MODEM , MODBUS Connectivity gautham LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 April 25th, 2005 03:56 PM
PLC to PLC Communication (Mitsubishi FX2N) c0met LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 31st, 2004 07:31 PM
PLC hook up check LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 July 31st, 2003 01:26 AM
STUDENT needs help on OMRON PLC RTproject LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 6th, 2003 05:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


.