Analog Scaling in RSLogix 5000 for 1769-IF8

rta53

Lifetime Supporting Member
OK, I apologize up front for having to ask about this. I am still learning to deal with the transition from Logix 500 to 5000. There is no module scaling for the 1769-IF8. It has to be done in 5000. I have been using the SCP instruction in SLCs but of course 5000 does not have this. In PLC5s I used the formula (X|4095)*100 in a CPT instruction if I wanted to scale my input 0 to 100. This was easy because the raw data was 0-4095. But if I use raw data in the IF8 for a 4-20mA input it is -32767 to +32767 where 4mA is about -29800 and 20mA is around 28900. If I use Engineering Units it is of course 4000 to 20000. What math do I use to scale these ranges say to a range of 0 to 150?

rta53 said:
OK, I apologize up front for having to ask about this. I am still learning to deal with the transition from Logix 500 to 5000. There is no module scaling for the 1769-IF8. It has to be done in 5000. I have been using the SCP instruction in SLCs but of course 5000 does not have this. In PLC5s I used the formula (X|4095)*100 in a CPT instruction if I wanted to scale my input 0 to 100. This was easy because the raw data was 0-4095. But if I use raw data in the IF8 for a 4-20mA input it is -32767 to +32767 where 4mA is about -29800 and 20mA is around 28900. If I use Engineering Units it is of course 4000 to 20000. What math do I use to scale these ranges say to a range of 0 to 150?

There is scaling that you can use right in the module itself. Go to the module properties (right click) and then go to the configuration tab. Select the type of input 4-20mA, and then enter in your min and max engineering units.

I already pointed out that there is no in module scaling for the 1769-IF8. This is a Compact Logix system.