You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 16th, 2018, 07:53 AM   #16
karlek
Member
Croatia

karlek is offline
 
karlek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Varazdin, Croatia
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP View Post
There are cable tools for exactly this purpose.
But I just use a sharp knife and my surgeon-like senses.
Can you provide some link or name of the tool, please?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2018, 11:40 AM   #17
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,179
Search for "cable dismantling tool".

These tools are mainly for stripping the end of cables. To take out a section in the middle, you have to make 2 circular cuts, and then a slit from one circular cut to the other.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2018, 01:22 PM   #18
tarik1978
Member
Morocco

tarik1978 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: casablanca
Posts: 269
Check this video tutorial:
https://youtu.be/EY32tfxohQ4
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2018, 01:46 PM   #19
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarik1978 View Post
Check this video tutorial:
https://youtu.be/EY32tfxohQ4
Those are more for a coax... these are for industrial and have use something similar in the past

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0EX5o2uJC2Q

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekbH81FYnj4
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2018, 05:44 PM   #20
JZerb
Member
United States

JZerb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Highland
Posts: 89
i use these, but they take a little finesse. i usually try and set the depth of the cutter on the very end of the cable im cutting to make sure i dont destroy what lies directly underneath.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2018, 06:30 PM   #21
danw
Member
United States

danw is offline
 
danw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: midwest, USA
Posts: 2,740
shield grounds on the rack right at the I/O modules on one PAC I work on:

  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2018, 06:58 PM   #22
Bit_Bucket_07
Member
United States

Bit_Bucket_07 is offline
 
Bit_Bucket_07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 1,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by danw View Post
shield grounds on the rack right at the I/O modules on one PAC I work on:

That's how the shields are terminated on an IFE module for an AB PLC-5. It can become a rat's nest attempting to terminate shielded cables directly to a 16 point module.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2018, 04:25 AM   #23
karlek
Member
Croatia

karlek is offline
 
karlek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Varazdin, Croatia
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP View Post
Search for "cable dismantling tool".

These tools are mainly for stripping the end of cables. To take out a section in the middle, you have to make 2 circular cuts, and then a slit from one circular cut to the other.
Thanks, I thought so, but still left a very small chance that there's some kind of special tool that can make a cut like that
  Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2018, 06:56 AM   #24
osmanmom
Member
Malaysia

osmanmom is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: JOHOR
Posts: 1,393
DO and DON'T,
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EARTHING.jpg (25.7 KB, 86 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2018, 11:47 AM   #25
Gomez_
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Gomez_ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: California
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by osmanmom View Post
DO and DON'T,
Sigh.... Is that real?
  Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:57 AM   #26
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,179
Ah, it just so happens that I have a new task where I need to fit everything into a relatively small cabinet.
So I am after having a DIN rail at the bottom of the cabinet, and use this DIN rail for a few teminals, but also for fixing cables and for terminating sheilds on shielded cables.

So what I am after is a shield clamp that fits on a tophat DIN rail.
I have found some, but they all only use spring tension to hold the cable and connect the shield. I really want to use a screw to tighten the clamp real good onto the shield.

In short, a screw-tightened shield clamp for mounting on a 35 mm DIN-rail.

Anyone know such a thing, and preferably from one of the bigger brands ?
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:32 AM   #27
osmanmom
Member
Malaysia

osmanmom is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: JOHOR
Posts: 1,393
google

icotek?
  Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:16 AM   #28
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,179
Yes, I have googled intensively, and only found some with spring tension for holding the shield and cable.

Same for Icotek.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shielded Wire Duct The Plc Kid LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 December 1st, 2011 12:00 PM
AWG wire sizes in the European Union TConnolly LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 20th, 2010 07:57 PM
Proper way to wire overloads Maintenance Man LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 26 November 29th, 2009 08:31 PM
Wire flexability for data collector rpoet LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 August 12th, 2008 10:26 PM
Do I need a shielded wire for 4-20mA signal? Cryogen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 March 17th, 2006 08:24 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


.