benifits and limitations

danielstacey

What are the benefits and limitations or different types of PLCs for specific applications?????

Yes I am new to PLCs and need your help!

New is obvious!

Yes I am new to PLCs and need your help!
but this in not an excuse for being that way for ever. You have to do all the work yourself, no one will ever do it for you. So, to start with, you need to read this. After you know what this forum is about then you need to read this and you will be way farther ahead than you are now.

What are the benefits and limitations or different types of PLCs for specific applications?????
is never a good question, here or any place that I know of. This is way to broad and ambiguous as you will find as you learn about PLCs.

But, welcome to this forum and let me say that you are in one of the best places to learn besides the obvious of actually doing this kind of work. Read a lot of previous posts, learn how to use this forum and there are many here who can answer your specific quesitons and offer help if you are working on something and need it.

Last edited:
Unitary PLCs are particularly well suited for brick making machinery.

Modular PLCs are at their best when applied to the automation of processes that produce components that can be assembled in many different ways.

Rack-mounted PLCs facilitate the automation of machines and processes frequently found in the torture industries.

danielstacey, welcome to the world of PLCs. Your question is very broad and needs to be sharpened a bit to your specific need and then someone here can help you.

A PLC is a PLC is a PLC. No matter if it says Omron, AB, Siemens, or a few dozen more brands on the front they are basically the same at the core of what they do. Some use Intel, Motorola, some use other RISC based processors, some use commercial OS and others use custom developed OS, but they all use some type of RTOS at the core.