Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum

Padraic

Hi everyone, this is my first post on this forum, so just a quick hello to everyone. I'm currently studying a course in Mechatronics/Automation here in Ireland.
I have started my second year project and while I have been researching PLC stuff over the past few weeks your forum has already been a wealth of information, so I decided to register.
Its a mega learning curve for me as I'm only a machine operator in a factory, I'm hoping to get a career with more rewarding & interesting work.
I have decided to build a model hot caustic tank. I got lucky and I managed to salvage a Micrologix 1500 from a machine that was about to be scrapped :) I dont have RS Linx or RS Logix 500 or a cable yet. but hopefully I will have them by next week. Fingers crossed I can get online to the controller.

Anyway I'm looking forward to being part of the forum and learning lots and hopefully in time be able to help others out.

Regards Padraic.

Welcome, I'm in the same boat; final year at Sligo IT, B.Eng Mechatronics.

RS linx is free (the lite version is all you require). I have the mlx cable and s/w if you need part numbers. You can install logix 500 for a free 7 day trial. There is a new range of Micro 800 series controllers, the software is free. Also MLX 1000 and 1100 are now supported by free logix 500.

Hot caustic tank - I take it there will be no actual caustic involved?

Hows things, are you going the level 7?
A friend at work is sorting me out with the suitable software, so I should have that by next week. I might use a little caustic, just to make it realistic :)

Hi Widelto, thank you for the manuals, is the usb to RS232 converter a good job? I have a serial port in my Laptops docking station, so I'm assuming that it will work through there.

Yes, level 7. Are you at the same site?

Are you doing purely temperature or are you doing conductivity too?

The USB->RS232 will only be required then if you don't have your docking station.