Career Choices in electronics and PLCs

I have a question about career choices in electronics and PLCs. The current job I have includes a little bit of electronics and PLCs but is mostly mechanical and preventive maintenance of food processing machines. I have 17 years experience in industrial maintenance, including electronics and PLCs. I am currently working on an associate degree in electronics part time while working full time, which will take me 2 more years to complete the degree. I have an interest of troubleshooting and working with electronics and PLCs, in which I also like to learn about them in my spare time at home. With that all said, I am wondering where the best kind of companies and jobs are working with electronics and PLCs in a clean environment for the most part, making decent wages and benefits, with a person like me with experiences and a 2 year electronics degree. If I could get some feedback from the experienced professional who frequent these message boards, about the positive and negatives of their career choices in electronics and PLCs. I am just looking for some advice in planning my future after I am done with school in 2 years. Thank you all very much for your help.
Sincerely:
Maintenance Man o_O

Most food,electronics and Plastics Manufacturing jobs are clean for the most part and from my personal experience have a high degree of automation.

Depends a lot on the size of the facility and how complex the process is. Some places just need a guy who can do lite plc work and contract the major stuff and some places need full blown control engineers on staff.

We are setup for 2 Mechanical engineers and 2 electrical engineers and one engineering manager.

We have a maint dept with 42 members. Our site is a little over 3 million square feet and it's packed out.

We have a little over 800 plc's and countless HMI,robots,process controlers and valves,etc.