Value of changing from NPN sensor setup to PNP sensor setup

Im installing a sensor setup that has only NPN sensors. The sensors count jars that pass by them. The sensors do not control any equipment. The environment is humid and prone to washing down. The sensors, three of them, go through a junction block that is prewired for m12 connections for NPN sensors. the junction box goes to an AB Compactlogix PLC. When there is no product passing the Jars the inputs on the PLC are all lit. When the product passes, the inputs are not lit. I have a small fuse that is on the 24v feed to the junction block.

Why did I choose this NPN setup as opposed to the PNP setup? Im new to PLC wiring so did not know all the ramifications of this setup vs a pnp setup. I read that pnp is more common but the npn setup was more safe for the plc should the sensor ground out.

Am I going to have some difficulties is the future with this setup? Is there some advantages to this setup vs a pnp setup?

Thanks!

I read that pnp is more common but the npn setup was more safe for the plc should the sensor ground out.!

Where did you read NPN is more "safe" for a PLC? And "safe" in what regard?

The main reason why PNP is chosen above NPN (or positive as opposed to negative logic) is because you don't want an inadvertently grounded wire to come on as if the sensor itself was on. The likelihood of a signal wire shorting to ground is infinitely higher than shorting to the positive of the PS.

I never use NPN unless a customer specifically forces the issue.

" pnp is more common but the npn setup was more safe for the plc should the sensor ground out"

I think this is just the opposite. The npn inptut would be true if you grounded the wire. With PNP, +voltage has to flow to the input to be true. A gounded out wire would result in false at the input module.

...The sensors do not control any equipment. ...the npn setup was more safe for the plc should the sensor ground out.