Compare Beckhoff TwinCat online software with offline project

nemo69

I'm a C++ programmer and I'm assigned to make an application that periodically shall comparer the online software vs the offline on a Beckhoff TwinCat system. Then intentition is that we should notify the customer that somebody has changed the online sw, meaning the online sofware is not the same as offline.

We have a working solution for Siemens PLC's where we calculate a checksum for the online and offline software and compare these.

So for the Beckhoff TwinCat system I need either a tool or a library(hopefully C++) that can do the same, or better do a direct compare.

Yes, for now the only suggestion is to use ole/com solution where my application would start the IDE(visual studio) with the beckhoff/twincat project and upload the software through the IDE. All using ole/com objects.

But I would like to go a bit lower in the stack. I guess the there must be some library/plugins that beckhof has integrated into visual studio. So it would be nicer to have access to these.

Probably best would be if there is a file on the PLC PC (CX,...) which represents the PLC code in use. Such is true in the \Boot folder, but I think only if the User creates a Boot Project as they upload new code. Perhaps there is a way to set so a Boot Project is always generated. Then, you would compare a master boot file against the current boot file.