Analog signal filtering

Plc_User

Hey,

I've read some threats here about analog signal filtering. Most propose a first order filter. I've done some experiments with first order filters and experienced best results with cascading first order filters. Especially towards delay time of the filterd signal. It was better to cascade f.i. three filters with a moderate filter constant then to use a high filter constant on one filter.
I am not experienced in the theoretical principles of filters, I wondered if some people used more sophisticated filters (like Butterworth or so) and what their experiences were ?
Thanks.

Plc_User said:
I wondered if some people used more sophisticated filters (like Butterworth or so) and what their experiences were ?
Thanks.

We use 4th order Butterworth filters in our motion controllers. Implementing a second order Butterworth filter is just a little harder than the cascaded single pole filters, but the Butterworth filter has a higher attenuation per pole.

ftp://ftp.deltacompsys.com/public/PDF/Mathcad - Butterworth.pdf

You must be careful about how the phase shift will affect your data at all frequencies of interest. As you have noticed, you may be better off using a 4 pole filter with a higher corner frequency than a single low pass filter, but each stage still add phase lag. From the graphs you can see the phase shift starts to become noticeable at about 1/10th of the corner freqency.

The reason that first order filters get recommended so much is because they are relatively easy to implement and tune. Most of these filter recomendations are for smoothing out a data display on an HMI or something similar. Not too demanding stuff. This doesn't mean they are necessarily the best choise. As Peter points out there are other filter designs that are more selective that are also relatively easy to implement.

Here are a couple of websites I found when looking for filter information. They may be of interest: