RSView32 VBA help - Binary to decimal conversion

SysIntegrator

Hey,

I'm looking for a bit of guidance on some vba code in RSView32. For the record I know zero (I know its shameful) VBA code.

What I'm trying to do is take 8 Digital tags and convert it back to an Analog tag. I don't have any means to transmit this data as an analog value.

I've never written any VBA code before so I did some looking around and found this site:

http://www.vb-helper.com/howto_decimal_to_binary.html

But I'm not sure how it all looks when it gets finished. I know I need to go and fetch all my discrete tags, but I'm not really sure where my variables get dropped into that example code. So far I've got this:

Public Function GROB35_ERRORCODE(Binary As String) As Long

Set gTagDb.GetTag("GROBS\35_ERROR_0") = BIT_0
Set gTagDb.GetTag("GROBS\35_ERROR_1") = BIT_1
Set gTagDb.GetTag("GROBS\35_ERROR_2") = BIT_2
Set gTagDb.GetTag("GROBS\35_ERROR_3") = BIT_3
Set gTagDb.GetTag("GROBS\35_ERROR_4") = BIT_4
Set gTagDb.GetTag("GROBS\35_ERROR_5") = BIT_5
Set gTagDb.GetTag("GROBS\35_ERROR_6") = BIT_6
Set gTagDb.GetTag("GROBS\35_ERROR_7") = BIT_7

Dim n As Long
Dim s As Integer

For s = 1 To Len(Binary)
n = n + (Mid(Binary, Len(Binary) - s + 1, 1) * (2 ^ _
(s - 1)))
Next s
BinaryToDecimal = n

Set Error = gTagDb.GetTag("GROBS\35_ERROR")

End Function

Any guidance is appreciated, thanks.

Ok, I changed my approach.

I decided since it was only an 8 byte word instead of doing a loop I'd do it the easy way.

Here's the new code:

Sub GROB35_ERRORCODE()

Dim BIT_0 As Boolean
Dim BIT_1 As Boolean
Dim BIT_2 As Boolean
Dim BIT_3 As Boolean
Dim BIT_4 As Boolean
Dim BIT_5 As Boolean
Dim BIT_6 As Boolean
Dim BIT_7 As Boolean
Dim ERROR As Integer

Set BIT_0 = gTagDb.GetTag("GROBS\35_ERROR_0")
Set BIT_1 = gTagDb.GetTag("GROBS\35_ERROR_1")
Set BIT_2 = gTagDb.GetTag("GROBS\35_ERROR_2")
Set BIT_3 = gTagDb.GetTag("GROBS\35_ERROR_3")
Set BIT_4 = gTagDb.GetTag("GROBS\35_ERROR_4")