What computer language would you recommend to learn

keuspastis

Hi guys,

I am an electrician/automation technician who got a new job for an Automation company that tends to write everything in ST.

I am ok with simple routine written in ST but eyes are now starting to hurt and so is my brain.

I thought that if I would learn a computer language a bit more complex but similar to ST it would get my brain used to it and make ST looks much easier.

The question is which computer language should I learn.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.

Hi guys,

I am an electrician/automation technician who got a new job for an Automation company that tends to write everything in ST.

I am ok with simple routine written in ST but eyes are now starting to hurt and so is my brain.

I thought that if I would learn a computer language a bit more complex but similar to ST it would get my brain used to it and make ST looks much easier.

The question is which computer language should I learn.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.

Computer language that is similar to ST as in Structured Text, SCL in siemens world? It's basically Pascal, learn that and you're on your way. I wish I could program in SCL/ST all the time as it is exactly the way I think of logic. IF this then that, do this for as long as this is happening and so on.
Now if you mean STL then my advice is quit (y)

C, C++, or python. C and C++ are totally different from python. C is good for embedded programming, writing firmware. C++ is good for high end HMIs but C# is probably just as good but a lot slower.

Python is a research tool. It is good for doing things you would in Matlab but python is free. Python has a lot of packages or libraries that allow one to do a lot quickly.
I have used python to write python code. That is pretty cool. I can use python to write ST too if I have the need.