Mitsubishi PLC

elevmike

I have what is yet an unidentified Mitsubishi PLC. The thing is 500 miles away, and all I have is a drawing. I'd like to arrive on the site prepaired to get into this thing but so far I have little info to work with.

This is what little I know...

Make Mitsubishi
Year installed: Early 1992
Inputs: 36 110vac
Outputs: 24 Relay

Expansion:
Inputs: 12 110vac
Outputs: 8 relay (isolated commons)

This controller needs a MINOR change in the program. What I'm trying to do is take a self taught crash course in Mitsubishi. It seems that Mitsubishi sofware can be downloaded free here , but I'm not sure what I need in the way of which software, manuals, cables, comm converter etc.. I need some pointing in the right direction.

Thanks, Mike

the software for download is time limited demos if i remember correctly (it will work for 15 days i think). after that
you might have trouble to make it work for another 15 days
if you need to finish job.
60 I/O in the PLC plus expansion sounds like FX series (FX1N or FX2N
- hope you didn't get the really old F series). The FX1S is not expandable and it has max 30 I/Os so it is not the one.
FX series can be programed with both MEDOC and WinGPP (or GX developer).
I think MEDOC can be downloaded for free but being older DOS based
package and doesn't nececarily support newer PLCs meaning
that you could still work on newer FX if you tell it it's some
old (and smaller) PLC. This will prevent you from using all
memory etc. but it can work. I never used MEDOC so someone else
can help you more.
For most fairly recent PLCs programming cable is SC09 which is
in the order of 150-200 dollars (it has built in converter).
There are cheaper alternatives which so far seam to work with FX
without problem (again, I never tried it myself, see www.mrplc.com
mitsubishi forum and shop section).
WinGPP is older package, it's predecesor of the GX Developer
or GX grew out of WinGPP if you like.