AB SLC 500 cable

rowens

I am new to Allen Bradley .
I have a SLC 500 unit that I need to setup communication to and upload the program to a laptop for a backup and to use as a learning tool for AB software.
The Cat # of the unit is 1747-l40A .
I have the RS linx and Rs logic softwares.
The laptop has serial and paraell ports and 1784-pcmk card.
I also have P/N 96993801-AO1 cable with an adapter for 9 pin to a mini round 8 pin connection.
the problem is that I find on the plc a connection similar to a phone jack.
What do I need to communicate and how should I setup the laptop for this particular plc.
banghead
I appreciate any help.

Thanks in advance
Richard

The pcmk card gives you alot of options. If you order cable 1784-pcm4/b from ab, you can communicate from pcmk card to processor.

To configure driver for this:
Open linx
Select communications
Select configure drivers
Click down arrow under available driver types
Select 1784-pcmk for dh+/dh485 devices
Click add new
Name driver click ok
In configure screen change network type from dhplus to dh485
Select ok

Make sure you select your driver when you open rs logix 500.

I think you have to have a 1747 pic converter to communicate with the processor through its serial port.

Last edited:
Hold the phone, there, Mike.

Your assuming that the PCMK card he's got is a Series B (capable of talking DH+/DH485/RIO) and not the series A (DH+ only). I couldn't tell from that part number which he has.

I would also ask Richard to verify that he's got RSLogix500, not RSLogix5.

He'll also need to verify that the version of RSLinx is high enough to support his operating system, especially if he's going to go the 1747-PIC route instead of the PCMK route (a PIC on eBay runs about $50, which is way less then a new 1747-PCM4/B cable.

the card is a series B.
yes I have a current version of rslogix 500.