RS Logix 500

randy

Supporting Member
I recently upgraded my laptop’s hard drive and memory. I also installed Windows 2000 Professional. I re-installed all my PLC programs including RS Logix 500 and RS Linx’s. Everything seemed to be fine until I tried to upload a program from the SLC 500. It instantly shut down the complete RS Logix and the RS Linx program. Before I get heavily into resolving this problem, is this anything to do with Windows 2000 Professional? Or can anybody help to point me in the right direction?

Randy

I'm running RSLogix 500 on Windows2000 Pro. I do computer stuff for a living (service, support, and programming) and in my opinion, Windows2000 is unMicros**tesque in it's stability. In my experience, it's the most stable windows OS there is. Now if your installation was an upgrade from some other OS, those are never "nice." You might want to check your laptop manufacturer's web site and see if there are any known issues w/ Win2k. Problems like what you've mentioned are usually obscure software conflict problems (and this is more likely the case if you aren't experiencing other problems with the machine.) Unfortunately, those are also sometimes the hardest to troubleshoot, since you don't get an error message when it nicely shuts down. You can try going thru uninstalling and reinstalling the Rockwell software (no, you don't expect it to "magically" fix it, but sometimes it does.) If that doesn't work, and it's likely it won't, you might want to try uninstalling other software that could be conflicting. Good luck, I -hate- those extremely annoying hard-to-troubleshoot problems.

-Don

I hope you did move your activation to a floppy. I think you can run rs logix 500 with the original master disc inserted into your a; drive. I've had a simular problem with windows me. I dumped rs logix and linx and re-installed them. The problem went away.

I have to agree with those who posted before me: