toggle tag in controllogix using factorytalk - using no buttons

halverst

I'm new to the forum and would like to say thanks in advance for any help you guys can give me. I'm relatively new to plcs but have a strong background in computers so I know what I want to do just not the best way to do it. So I apologize if this is a dumb question.

My set up:
I have a slc-500 in our waste water treatment plant and a newly installed control logix in our main building, along many others but the control logix is all I'm working with now. We use factorytalk as our hmi and a keps server to pass data from the different plcs to the factorytalk server. Rs linx is used to communicate between the factorytalk server and control logix.

My problem:
On our hmi screen there is a panel that displays a warning when a divert valve in the wwtp becomes activated. The keps server passes the tag value from the slc-500 to the factorytalk server. When the valve opens the panel becomes visible then goes invisible when the valve is closed. I would like to toggle a bool tag in the control logix when the panel becomes visible.Then use this bool as a trigger for output to a horn on the production floor.

I played around for awhile with animations in factorytalk to toggle this bit but couldn't find a way. Using a button I can but I want it to toggle automatically when the panel becomes visible.

I figure I can use a vba script to do this but I'm guessing there is a another way to accomplish this through factorytalk.

What model of SLC do you have, it may be better to pass the bit directly from the SLC to the CLX and bypass the HMI. This would be my choice, if the two are on the same communication network.

+1 for this.
What model of SLC do you have, it may be better to pass the bit directly from the SLC to the CLX and bypass the HMI. This would be my choice, if the two are on the same communication network.