Data to SQL

J E

I am brand new to SQL. I am in the process of developing an FTView SE application, along with a ControlLogix PLC system. I was recently told that I also need to log data to an SQL database on a seperate computer. I have researched and found several options, but its hard to tell which method would be the most efficient without actually trying them.

Here are the options I have found:

- ODCB logging in View SE (not even sure if this would - work or what would be involved)
- FactorySQL
- RSSql (now Factorytalk Transaction Manager?)
- A custom application (VB/C++ or even VBA) (I can get to the PLC via OPC, but don't know what would be involved with the database side).

I'm most curious about the ODCB logging, but I can't find much documentation, and I don't want to get too deep into it if you guys think I'm wasting my time. I am being put under pressure to do this without purchasing additional software.

I'd apprecate any input. I'm wading into new waters here - it's hard to make a good desicion knowing little about the options, and I certainly don't want to make a bad one.

- ODCB logging in View SE (not even sure if this would - work or what would be involved)
- FactorySQL
- RSSql (now Factorytalk Transaction Manager?)
- A custom application (VB/C++ or even VBA) (I can get to the PLC via OPC, but don't know what would be involved with the database side).

I'm most curious about the ODCB logging, but I can't find much documentation, and I don't want to get too deep into it if you guys think I'm wasting my time. I am being put under pressure to do this without purchasing additional software.

I'd apprecate any input. I'm wading into new waters here - it's hard to make a good desicion knowing little about the options, and I certainly don't want to make a bad one.

Don't do ODBC. It should only be used as a last resort.