Ethernet

Hi! I am a student and I have to change to actual connection of panelview and plc made via devicenet to ethernet. So my question is which conditions must to be satisfied to connect panelview and plc via ethernet?

I will appreciate the help!

Welcome to the Forum !

Please post exactly which model of controller you are using, and exactly which model of PanelView you are using. For the PanelView especially, post the complete part number.

Are you replacing the PanelView with a new unit ?

DeviceNet uses principally I/O mapping, while Ethernet uses principally data table or tag database access. The difference between addressing the two will depend on which PLC and which PanelView you are using.

Welcome to the Forum !

Please post exactly which model of controller you are using, and exactly which model of PanelView you are using. For the PanelView especially, post the complete part number.

Are you replacing the PanelView with a new unit ?

DeviceNet uses principally I/O mapping, while Ethernet uses principally data table or tag database access. The difference between addressing the two will depend on which PLC and which PanelView you are using.

The model of the controller is PLC5 and for panelview is plus 1000.
The part number of panelview is 2711P-RDT12CK. I am not replacing the panelview but I am to change its actual connection made via devicenet to ethernet.

To determine which data tables are used with the PanelView in the PLC-5 contorller, you will need the RSNetworx for DeviceNet configuration file, which contains the 1771-SDN DeviceNet Scanner scanlist and memory map.

The 1771-SDN scanlist will show you the Discrete I/O and the Block Transfer numbers that are associated with the PanelView Plus on DeviceNet.

The PLC-5 program will show you which Data Table addresses are associated with the Block Transfer numbers.

This is not a simple addressing change, because of the very different addressing methods used on the two networks.