Tag update on Red Lion DSP

krakenfan69

Lifetime Supporting Member
I have a Red Lion DSPSX set up to read native L5K tags over Ethernet to populate tags in the DSP. I then send these tags out over RS-485 to Modbus Addresses. It was working fine but timed out and quit pushing the values (tank level %) so I changed the update policy from automatic to continuous and it seemed to keep pushing the value. Well 5 days later and it has quit pushing the values into the modbus addresses again. Any idea what might be causing the data to quit sending? I'm new to Red Lion so I would really appreciate any help you can give me.

Thanks,

Kraken Fan #69

I would recommend adding one tag from the Modbus side and one tag from the AB side to the watch window. See if you are communicating to both devices. If you aren't this will let you know which direction to start troubleshooting.

Thanks
Jeremy

Thanks for the reply,

I had set up a web server and was monitoring the G3 tags being pushed to the Modbus address and they (everything) was working fine. At some point however the modbus address began seeing 0's and triggered an alarm. I have created a new web server that will monitor the tags being read from the native Compact logix and the modbus values separately and will see how that goes. I hope to be on site tomorrow to look into it.

The values from the native l5k tags are being red in through a wireless Ethernet system. If we lost comms and that internal G3 was no longer being updated would it retain its last value or would it go to zero?

Thanks again for the help and I'll post the results (most likely a setting on my end) when I can.

Kraken Fan #69

Experiencing possibly similar issue with DSPLE

Kraken and Jeremy,