You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 18th, 2020, 07:50 PM   #1
RaymondGuillaum
Member
Canada

RaymondGuillaum is offline
 
RaymondGuillaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Trois-Rivieres, QC
Posts: 15
Wonderware Intouch 2017 (17.3) poor performances

Hi!

We are currently updating our Intouch 2012 (v10.5 and v10.6) and Intouch 2014 (v11.1) to Intouch 2017 (v17.3).

We were using workstations as nodes and WinServer2012 as NAD server, with centralized DAS (v10.5 & v10.6). Now, we are using HP ThinClient as nodes, and two WinServer2016 (with load balancing) as NAD/DAS server (v17.3).

We are exposed to very poor performances with both Intouch Maker & Viewer (at least 40% slower than workstations).

I did many tests, like getting more RAM and/or CPUs. It didn't help significantly. I also try to disable firewall, anti-virus, defender, etc. I even tried a empty WinServer2016 OS (I mean, only Windows). I also made a VMWare WinServer2016 machine hosting on a PC (instead of network infrastructure).

While I was doing my tests, I noticed that the problem disappears if the RDS (Remote Desktop Service) is disable, and reappears as soon as RDS is enable. Since I got 15 clients, spread in 2 servers with load balancing, I can't let RDS disable.

Wonderware is investigating the problem for 4 months now, and didn't come with a solution.

I search a lot on internet, tried some technotes, posts, etc. Nothing!

Hope you guys can help us !!!

P.S. I already tried what described in those topics
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=54736
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=87603

Last edited by RaymondGuillaum; November 18th, 2020 at 07:53 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2020, 09:46 PM   #2
RaymondGuillaum
Member
Canada

RaymondGuillaum is offline
 
RaymondGuillaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Trois-Rivieres, QC
Posts: 15
I bet I'll switch to FactoryTalk View SE !
  Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2020, 10:38 PM   #3
Phrog30
Member
United States

Phrog30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 751
What, and go from one bad platform to even worse! Factory Talk is garbage. I'd take wonderware any day over it. But I would use ignition over both.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2020, 11:15 AM   #4
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,813
I believe Wonderware is the only platform that supports NAD...
Have you tried a standalone computer that is not NAD dependent?
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2020, 04:49 PM   #5
bdossantos
Member
United States

bdossantos is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: California
Posts: 53
I agree with Phrog30. Scripting, managing, etc is way better with Wonderware. I have done NAD applications with RDS servers. The set up that I normally implement is 2 dedicated Primary + secondary servers with DAS and a RDS server to handle the clients. Didn't have a issue with loading. (Also they were Windows 2012R2 Intouch 2014R2)
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2020, 06:56 PM   #6
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 10,798
If you want to convert to a different platform, leave 1990 behind and upgrade to Ignition!
__________________
You can choose a ready guide in some celestial voice. If you choose not to decide you still have made a choice.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2020, 06:58 PM   #7
RaymondGuillaum
Member
Canada

RaymondGuillaum is offline
 
RaymondGuillaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Trois-Rivieres, QC
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrog30 View Post
What, and go from one bad platform to even worse! Factory Talk is garbage. I'd take wonderware any day over it. But I would use ignition over both.
If it wasn't for the lack of support, we'd keep Wonderware.



Quote:
Originally Posted by NetNathan View Post
I believe Wonderware is the only platform that supports NAD...
Have you tried a standalone computer that is not NAD dependent?
Yes, we did it with a Workstation and it was fine (no RDS). We also try a server without NAD nor RDS, it was OK too. But as soon as we enable RDS, which is necessary for multiple users, performance drop by 40%



Quote:
Originally Posted by bdossantos View Post
I agree with Phrog30. Scripting, managing, etc is way better with Wonderware. I have done NAD applications with RDS servers. The set up that I normally implement is 2 dedicated Primary + secondary servers with DAS and a RDS server to handle the clients. Didn't have a issue with loading. (Also they were Windows 2012R2 Intouch 2014R2)
This is exactly the setup we have. We have the problem with Intouch 2014R2 with WinServer 2012R2. Wonderware told us to upgrade to Intouch 17.2 or 17.3 with WinServer2016, so we did. It didn't change anything except we got problem with SQL requests.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2020, 11:16 PM   #8
Tnorman
Member
United States

Tnorman is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
I am not sure if this is your problem, but Wonderware has issues with multiple network cards. Solving connectivity issues in the past, I was told that Wonderware's DA/OI will only connect through the first network card (binding order).

Recently, one of my sister sites had connectivity issues that would cause the application to run slow, and every 45 to 90 minutes they would close the app, and reload it. Eventually it was trace back to the network cards not being in the correct order.

Most likely not your issue but worth a check.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2020, 02:45 PM   #9
RaymondGuillaum
Member
Canada

RaymondGuillaum is offline
 
RaymondGuillaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Trois-Rivieres, QC
Posts: 15
I finaly found what was causing the poor performances. It is the "TSFairShare".

Quote:
After working with the Windows team we found that the Remote Desktop Services feature was rewritten in Windows Server 2012, specifically around how the available resources on the server are pooled to allow multiple users to log into the machine at once. As part of this pooling a functionality called TSFairShare was introduced to manage how resources are divided up. This setting allows you to tune the pooling behavior and has resolved performance issues for a couple of our Dynamics GP customers. It's just that setting, which can be configured using the following steps, that you can attempt to address performance issues you are seeing over remote connections.
https://community.dynamics.com/gp/b/...ft-dynamics-gp

The disable TSFairShare :
1. Start Regedit.exe.
2. Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\TSFairShare\Disk.
3. Change the value of EnableFairShare from 1 to 0 (zero).

By doing this, we retrieve the speed and performance that we had with WinServer2008 (Intouch 10.6).

Thank you all for the ideas!
  Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2020, 02:55 PM   #10
drbitboy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

drbitboy is online now
 
drbitboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,959
and Thank You for the follow-up.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2020, 03:03 PM   #11
Bit_Bucket_07
Member
United States

Bit_Bucket_07 is offline
 
Bit_Bucket_07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 1,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by drbitboy View Post
and thank you for the follow-up.
+1
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wonderware InTouch 2017 - User Level Security rajy2r LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 December 5th, 2019 06:09 PM
Wonderware System Platform 2017 - Intouch ViewApp cannot write any tags Saffa LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 17th, 2018 07:37 AM
wonderware intouch installation and share wonderware intouch experience oscarray LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 24 June 19th, 2015 02:33 PM
Wonderware Intouch nil9178 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 February 9th, 2011 02:28 PM
Wonderware InTouch vs WinCC nil9178 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 6th, 2011 03:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.


.