Pump Time Cycle Control

jmjohnson

I am extremely new to programming in ladder logic. Please help me understand how I should handle the algorithm below.

an automatic RAS/WAS time cycle control will be implemented with operator adjustable setpoints for run time per "on" cycle, and "off time" between starts.

Thank you in advance for your help.

I am extremely experienced at programming in ladder logic. Please help me understand the following:

an automatic RAS/WAS time cycle control will be implemented with operator adjustable setpoints for run time per "on" cycle, and "off time" between starts.

Thank you in advance for your help.

What does RAS/WAS mean?

What kind of controls/"adjustable setpoints" will the operator have for on/off cycle:
  1. Operator sets ON time duration and OFF time duration as seperate entried?
  2. Operator sets RUN duration length, and ON (or OFF) duration (with error checking so that RUN > ON)?
  3. Operator sets RUN duration length, and a percentage of the ON (or OFF) time?
  4. Operator enters two numbers for the ratio of ON to OFF, and the PLC calculates the time based on a fixed RUN duration?
  5. Something else?
Or do you mean something more like "on time between starts" and "off time between starts", where the gizmo must run for a minimum time, and rest for a minimum time, but doesn't have to be stopped/started when the times are done?

Tell us what you mean, and then maybe we can help.

First of all, thank you for your patience.

What does RAS/WAS mean?

RAS is a type of recycled water pump and WAS is a type of waste water pump.

What kind of controls/"adjustable setpoints" will the operator have for on/off cycle:

Module position C, Digital Control/Monitor Module, point 3 provides the capability for the operator to manually stop and start the pump. I have to create the ability for the operator to enter the setpoints for run time per "on" cycle, and "off time" between starts.