You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 12th, 2004, 11:13 AM   #1
g.robert
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

g.robert is offline
 
g.robert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: texas
Posts: 320
Time to buy the AB software

We had gone from using the Moeller smart relays to the 10 point micrologix with the free software. We now must use a micrologix which will require RS Logix 500. I will be purchasing this along with the panelbuilder software for a micro view HMI that will be set up with the PLC.

I budgeted the starter software for around $500 and the panelbuilder for around $300. I am unsure if I should go for the full blown RS Logix. That would be twice as much. What would you do starting out? There is not enough money in the job so I would have to eat the extra money spent. How would you get the most for your money with legitimate AB software?

Thanks in advance for your input.

EDIT: I might as well throw it all on the table.
The system consist of 10 DI and 7 DO using 24VDC for inputs and isolated relay outputs. It will have a HMI to allow a operator to change values. The local AB rep recommended these components:
1761-L16BWA $246.40
9324RLO100ENE $499.00
2711-M3A18L1 $324.00
2711ND3 $295.00
2711CBLHMO5 $59.82

I must use AB on the PLC but I might be able to use a different HMI. Does anyone see any obvious ways to save money on this setup?

It was a tough year in 2003 and I sure would like to squeeze every exra penny out of this. Thanks in advance for any input on software / hardware.
__________________
Thanks, Robert

Last edited by g.robert; January 12th, 2004 at 11:29 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 11:20 AM   #2
93lt1
Member
United States

93lt1 is offline
 
93lt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mount Pleasant, Iowa
Posts: 993
This probably will not answer your question, but the MicroView does not use Panelbuilder software. It has it's own software that also programs the DTAM's.

Part # is: 2707-NP
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 11:34 AM   #3
g.robert
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

g.robert is offline
 
g.robert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: texas
Posts: 320
93LT1, I added some part numbers and the whole hardware layout to my original post. Do the part numbers / software match up?
__________________
Thanks, Robert
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 12:12 PM   #4
Ron Beaufort
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ron Beaufort is offline
 
Ron Beaufort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,436
check with your local distributor first but it's usually possible to start out with the $500 RSLogix500 package first ... and then upgrade (for more money of course) when you need more horsepower ... in other words, you probably won't have to start over from scratch ...
__________________

2-B ?
Best regards, ----+----] [----+------------( )----
Ron | |
PLC Training Boot Camp | 2-B |
+----]/[----+

I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, but now I see.

  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 12:29 PM   #5
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,102
Since you're a first-time user, your A-B distributor may be able to sell you a MicroLogix 1000 Starter Kit and a PanelView 300 Micro Starter Kit. Just like at the supermarket, it's "one per customer", but you can probably save 50%.

These are usually sold in conjunction with a training class, but often they're also used when a small customer or OEM wants to begin using A-B hardware, to reduce that big first step of buying the configuration software up front with the first controller.

Talk to you distributor about it.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 12:33 PM   #6
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,102
details, details

The PanelView 300 Micro does use the PanelBuilder32 software, so that matches.

When using MicroLogix 1000, you don't have online editing in the first place, nor do you typically need online cross-referencing (the most important features of RSLogix 500 Standard). So the Starter version of the software is ideal for MicroLogix users.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 02:24 PM   #7
g.robert
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

g.robert is offline
 
g.robert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: texas
Posts: 320
Thanks for the replies.

Ken I am working on the info you provided. The only thing that concerns me is, what will I be lacking when we move up to a system with the SLC 500? I have allready been told that there is no upgade from the starter kit. When I need RS logix 500 Pro, It will cost full price.I may just have to live with it as the primary objective is to save money now, not later. Maybe I did not ask AB the right question or in the right way.
__________________
Thanks, Robert
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 03:45 PM   #8
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,102
There are three versions of RSLogix 500: Starter, Standard, and Professional.

Most folks who use a lot of RSLogix 500 use the Standard version. Don't buy Professional unless you need a lot of networking software and are a really hardcore SLC user.

I was not aware of any restriction on upgrading the copy of RSLogix 500 Starter that comes with the Starter Kit. It's possible, but I haven't heard of it. There's certainly no upgrade discount for the free version of RSLogix 500.. maybe that was your dealer's confusion.

Usually it's just part number 9324-RL01U3ENE to get RSLogix 500 Standard upgrade from Starter. $700 is the upgrade price if you're in support.

If you want to look at the detail of features that are in Standard but not in Starter, have a peek at the product feature matrix on the RSI site:

http://www.software.rockwell.com/sup...il.cfm?ID=2605
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 08:10 PM   #9
g.robert
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

g.robert is offline
 
g.robert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: texas
Posts: 320
Thanks Ken, I'll check it out. The only problem I have now is the AB rep says it will take two weeks before the starter kits can be shipped. Oh well, I guess you can't have everything!
__________________
Thanks, Robert
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 08:24 PM   #10
tomneth
Member
United States

tomneth is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 110
So the retail price for PanelBuilder32 software is $295 ?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 08:35 PM   #11
gbradley
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

gbradley is offline
 
gbradley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Corona, Ca.
Posts: 1,531
Many moons ago I started out with the starter kit. It has, and still does work on the micrologix. I then had to buy panelbuilder 32 to program a PanelView.
The Starter version worked fine programing a SLC 5/02 fine also.
Of course I don't do any online editing.
Incidently I've also had good luck with Customer support.
I'd say go for the Starter Kit.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AB PLC 5 problem. Software running but no inputs, outputs running. Lee Wood LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 March 23rd, 2016 05:59 AM
Why pay for PLC programming software? Stephen Luft LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 283 October 24th, 2015 07:58 AM
Rockwell Software again... panic mode LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 October 20th, 2004 08:33 AM
Where to buy LM90-30 software THeadley LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 March 4th, 2004 03:44 PM
AB Software UK Homer LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 3rd, 2003 01:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.


.