Siemens S7 Programming Best Practices

mjp123gp

I've been doing PLC programming for about 15 years now but all of my experience has been with Allen-Bradley PLC's. A few months ago I started a new job and we have about 7 lines running Siemens S7 controllers. I've read a bunch of training material and and watched some videos and have figured out how to do the basics like get online, upload, download but I'm not quite sure what the proper procedure is for making programming changes and making sure I have good backups. With the AB controllers I would go online, upload, Save, then "Save As" with a new file name before I made any changes. This would give me a backup of the running program before any changes were made. I tried to do what I though was the same thing with the Siemens the other day but apparently ended up downloading an older program and I've been scared to go back and try to fix it until I learn a little more.

So my question is, what would be the proper sequence when making logic changes? I know there are several options but I'm not sure when to use each. For example, Upload to PG, Upload Station to PG, Download block, Download controller, Save to memory card.

Any suggestions appreciated.
Thanks
Mark

Don't take this the wrong way, but the first thing you need to implement is a proper version control in the plant where you're at. You were just a victim of someone else's mistake/lack of control.

It changed a little bit from Step7 to TIA Portal. But on Step 7, you'd open the program you have then right click on the source folder and an option for compare would appear. Clicking on that would allow you to compare the online versus the offline copy. You can then compare timestamps or complete code and settings. On huge programs over slow connections I would normally compare timestamps and if any difference was noted I would then do a full compare of the FC/FB/OB that had differences to understand what they were.