Checking status of certain number of inputs

dajody

Hi. I'm relatively new to PLC programming so this may be a simple question and I'm just overlooking the easy way to do things.

The machine I'm dealing with uses an OMRON CJ1M CPU12 plc (using CX-Programmer 4.0 software).

I'm trying to figure out a way to monitor 8 separate proximity sensor inputs and set an output work bit high when ANY 5 of these inputs is on. Based on mathematical combination there are a total of 56 possible combinations. I could use 56 lines and write out all 56 possible combinations, but it seems like there must be an easier way. As I mentioned I'm fairly new to PLC programming (I've read a few books and basically learned on the fly with some new equipment we purchased at work), so there may be some functions I just haven't been exposed to yet.

Anyway, I'd appreciate any help. Let me know if more information is required. Thanks.

Dave

Inputs

I don't know the Omron commands but you might be able to do it this way.

For each input, if you have if true move a 1 into an unique integer, if not move a zero. (2 rungs for each or use a branch and combine to 1 rung).

Add the totals of all integers together, if greater than 4, turn on the output. With A-B we could use a compute function to add them together.

This logic could use up to 18 rungs of logic.

Good luck

On every scan, begin by resetting TOTAL to "0".
+-----------+
-----------------+ TOTAL = 0 +---
+-----------+

If Prox-1 is ON then Increment TOTAL, else don't Increment TOTAL.
PROX-1 +-----------------------+
----| |----------+ ADD TOTAL + 1 = TOTAL +---
+-----------------------+

If Prox-2 is ON then Increment TOTAL, else don't Increment TOTAL.
PROX-2 +-----------------------+

If Prox-3 is ON then Increment TOTAL, else don't Increment TOTAL.
PROX-3 +-----------------------+

If Prox-4 is ON then Increment TOTAL, else don't Increment TOTAL.
PROX-4 +-----------------------+