PLC Speed Sensing

Cody Anderson

Hello!

I am looking for some help to know if I have the correct setup to monitor the speed of a motor running. The motor RRM is 3490 and the Frequency is 60 HZ. I have never tried this before so I am not sure how to completely do the calculations to see if I have a PLC fast enough to keep up. What I want to do is, use a dc prox sensor to sense a pulser disk connected to the motor. Right now I am just using a 1769-L18ER-BB1B with a 1734-IB8 input card. The pulser disk has 16 alternating poles will be either 2.5 inches or 4 inches in diameter. I do not think I am able to keep up with the current setup, but I cannot figure out how to calculate if its the prox sensor or the input card that cannot keep up. I just tried a normal allen bradley prox sensor 872c-dn5np18-d4.

Thanks for any help!!

Yes that would be very easy but would just add another unnecessary cost. I already have everything I need and thats not what the customer wants. Thanks though!

I think that’s his point, you’re going to need different or additional hardware.

Most standard input cards have at best a .5 ms minimum on/off transition. At the rpm you listed you have 64 revolutions per second. No bueno.

3490rpm is ~58rps*, times 16 pulses/rev is over 900Hz, so of order 1ms/pulse so 0.5ms per half-state; or if I am misunderstanding "pulser disk" then maybe 450Hz or 2ms/pulse or 1ms per half.

I don't know about the prox, but unless the PLC was doing nothing else, the PLC would almost certainly miss some transitions on a typical discrete input (as _Dock_ says).

• Can you use a high-speed counter card (1734-VHSC...)?
  • Can you block 15 of the pulses**?

* I remember seeing [RPS = Revoutions Per Second!] in a Flash DC Comic many moons ago ;)

** See here, but the guts of it is Qd in the image below; I imagine there exists a single 4-bit counting chip, and a little soldering should get you there.

counter-cou4.gif

Last edited: