What do facilities with haphazard wiring have in common?

strantor

I sent the below message to a coworker and now I'm retrospectively auditing my thoughts, assumptions, biases, etc. (second guessing myself). I'm curious if my experiences match others. If you're not afraid to, please fill in the blank. You can PM me your answer if you don't want it to be public. I do not wish to ignite any social/political/race debates, just to validate/invalidate the assertion that I have already made.

"As a field service tech I worked in different facilities every day, sometimes many in a day, hundreds of facilities over the years. One of my observations is that a disproportionately high percentage of [__________] people are not even a little bit afraid to tamper with machinery that they don't understand. This is data, not racism. Plants staffed primarily with [__________] people more often have control cabinets full of unsanctioned, undocumented, and absolutely perilous haphazard wiring changes. I've watched with my own eyes as [__________] guys go into a panel and just start randomly lifting wires off of relays and landing them on other relays, with absolute conviction and total confidence. The untrained observer would never think to question their knowledge. This must just be "how it's done" in [__________]; a cultural thing. I don't mean to sound ugly; I know they mean well, but this cannot be allowed to happen at our facility. Plants where these practices are allowed to cultivate, are plants where people get hurt or killed, and where the equipment is down more than up."

OK, I'll bite.