Learning by Doing

pstephens

Hi Folks,

I’ve been hanging around here for several months now, learning from the discussions, but not really feeling qualified to make a comment. I’ve been designing industrial machinery at various companies for well over twenty years -- everything from a fixture for gluing chicken feathers to wooden darts, to a machine for testing burial caskets by shaking them violently up and down. A little over a year ago I decided to go into business for myself, hiring my design and CAD services out to various industrial clients. It was slow getting started, but the past six months have been fairly busy. The reason for this post is that I think I’ve gotten myself in over my head with my latest project.

My educational background (and most of my work experience) is in mechanical engineering, though I have designed quite a few machines equipped with both relay and PLC control systems. In these instances, if more than a couple of relays was required, I would farm out the control design to an expert. For my part, I would develop a detailed list of inputs and outputs, as well as a detailed operational sequence for the person designing the control system. Sometimes they would build the panel, sometimes I would build it to their specs. So, I’ve been around this stuff for quite a while, though I’ve yet to design a complex control system from scratch. I’ve made minor modifications to others’ programs, but that doesn’t take a lot of smarts.