SLC 5/03 PC Communication

jerry_smith

I am a novice to PLCs. My company has asked me to do this project for them. It involves a SLC 503 and a winXP PC. They have asked me to create a mySql database in the PC and create a serial communication between the PLC and PC. I have with me RSLinx and RSLogix 500. They r not providing me with any other software. I can download mySql from the web. Will these be enough? Do i need a scripting language to make this work?
Now I have connected the SLC and the PC thru a serial cable. I went to RSLinx and tried to configure a DF1 driver. When i press the autoconfigure button, it is unable to do it and asks to check the communication link. I know this cable is good. Is there anything else i have to do to make this work?
I would like someone to guide me on this.
Thank u
js

A bunch of questions

1) What flavor of RSLinx do you have? If you've only got Lite, you're up a creek without a leg to stand on (to coin a mixed metaphor). Unless you are planning to write your own driver for this project.

2) Which version of RSLinx do you have? If you're running XP, you should be using 2.40 or better.

3) How do you "know this cable is good"? Has it talked to any SLC on any PC before?

4) Do you have any other way of finding out going on with the SLC? It's possible to change the port settings so that you can't do DF1 communication.

5) Which firmware of SLC 5/03? I think (but don't remember for certain) that the first ones didn't have DF1 communication (like their 5/01 and 5/02 bretheren).

The RSLinx verison in my PC is 2.42. I have used this serial cable before and it has worked well.
I too feel that it might be the firmware problem. How can i update it. But should i not be able to talk to the PLC to do the update?
These are the descriptions i find in my PLC. It is
CAT:1747-L532 SER:A
OS#1747-OS302 SER:A

But my serial cable says Null Modem on it. Will that be the source of the problem?

js

Last edited: