PC based data logging with ICP-das IO modules? Am i on the right track here?

queequeg152

Have a fairly simple project wherein id like to monitor half a dozen Rh/temp sensors for dewpoint along with a few temp only sensors.

i studied civil in school so my programming background is laughable...so im trying to keep this dead stupid simple, to be honest i tried to get into PLC logic years ago buying an automation direct PL06 and trying to learn off of their documentation, but gave up quite quickly.

so yea, im looking at getting 1 or more ICP DAS 7000 series IO modules with analog inputs to handle the 0-1v signals from my temp/RH sensors.

Im going to take the rs485 modbus/dcon signal from these IO modules and feed them into to USB or ethernet converter...

then feed this signal into a mini PC that i can fit into an enclosure- like an Asus EEEbox pc running windows.

on this computer id like to run ICP DAS's "EzDatalogger" software to configure and calibrate the sensor inputs and export CsV files... and MABY setup a remote server where i could access the data if needed.

am i on the right track here? like i said i am pretty much hopless with PLC's so i would like to keep this as simple as possible here. This is a personal project as well... so im trying to keep it under 500 bucks as well.

unrelated:

im having a hard time prying open these data aquisition systems. i have a very general understanding here... but Can anyone recommend some books of documents i could read? Ive been looking around the labview websites(helpful for info about analog signals, bit rates etc), but im more looking for general info on Modbus protcol, Dcon, device wiring best practices etc.

thanks in advance guys.

I know that you can run MySQL on the WAGO PFC series PLC with no trouble. We've also used Microsoft Access to read and write to the tables (and of course you can do this from within the PLC.)