Pool control with wireless remote

Titanium

Hello,

I have just found this great forum a couple of days ago. I even spent several hours reading through the 800+ thread on Paula Stephens wire cutter project.

I am a retired electrical engineer, but it has been several years since I have been in the trenches, and even then I did more work with industrial power distribution (switchgear, transformers, motors, cables, etc) than I did with PLC's and industrial control.

I have a friend who just spent a ton of money on a dedicated control system for his swimming pool. It appears to me that the pool controllers offered by the pool controller manufacturers are 1) expensive for what they are, and 2) relatively inflexible to do anything "special" or out of the ordinary, and 3) unable to communicate with outside devices (other than by the manufacturer, at least for this particular brand [GoldLine])

My friend spent on the order of $1200 for a system that performs the following:

- 3 analog inputs for 10k thermistors
- one digital input for the chlorinator flow switch
- local 2 line display with 9 control buttons
- four 24 VAC digital outputs to valve actuators
- four 24 VDC relay outputs that then go to DPDT Omron relays that then control "high voltage" things such as 240 volt filter pump motors and cleaner booster pump, and 120 Volt pool and spa lights.
- two dry contacts for pool heater control (24 V)

The whole system is merely a circuit-board based microcontroller in a steel enclosure. The steel enclosure also contains the local display (mounted on standoffs on the microcontroller circuit board), a 100 Amp, 8 circuit "base" for lighting panel type 120/240 Volt circuit breakers (Square D type HOM or Cutler-Hammer type BR), and a stepdown transformer (120VAC to ?). Here is a picture of enclosure with the door open, and you can see the local display in the upper third of the picture.

Aqua-Logic-AQL-P-S-4.jpg