Control Logix learning curve

I'd compare it to learning Siemens. It's quite a bit more powerful (understatement) than Logix500 and with that power comes complexity. Little things like old guys are used to having things aligned by address (think bits in words) go out the window with tag based addressing. Tip: use aliases. :) There is a host of new features in hardware to boot.

It sure helped me to talk to other programmers that took the leap. Feel free to ask questions here - you are not the only one with questions that need answering.

Don't expect me to provide answers, I'm a Logix5000 newbie, less than 10 systems. I enjoy learning here and can sympathize (empathize) with your learning.

Greetings gas ...

correct me if I'm wrong, but I seem to remember that you teach this stuff from time to time ...

with that in mind, are you asking how long it takes to learn how to USE the software? – or how long it takes to feel comfortable TEACHING others how to use it? ...

and IF you're planning to just USE it, will you be designing and writing the programs yourself? – or in most cases just interpreting (and possibly making modifications) to programs which have already been written by other programmers? ...

it's kind of hard to answer your original question without knowing more about what you're planning to do in the long run - but I'll give it a try anyway ...

on the plus side, if you're already familiar with writing a program (start to finish) in RSLogix500, then learning to do the same thing in RSLogix5000 probably won't be too bad ... basically you just get started by learning how to do what you've already been doing – but using a different software package ... the good news is you can keep things simple to begin with – and then gradually add in the more-advanced features as you discover their capabilities and find appropriate uses for them ...