Tieback definition

Kron

Hi to everybody...

I would like to know if somebody can explain me what the "tieback" parameter exactly does in a PLC5 PID instruction?

I am new with this instruction and I have look in the RS Help files but I can't find something clear.

Thanks in advance.

From the PLC-5 instruction set reference:

Tieback
a word address used to implement bumpless transfer when using a
manual control station. The tieback is an output of a BTR instruction
from the station.

Greetings Kron,

here’s just a little bit more detail ... suppose that your operator has a potentiometer on his control board ... suppose that the potentiometer puts out a “plain vanilla” range of analog values from 0 through 4095 ... suppose that the value from the potentiometer’s channel lands at N7:55 ... the value would be placed there by a BTR (Block Transfer Read) instruction as mentioned in Ken’s post ...

suppose that when you programmed the PID instruction, you entered in the address N7:55 for the “Tieback” setting ...

next we need to know how you’ve set up your PID instruction ... specifically, did you use an N-type control block? ... or did you use a PD-type control block? ...

for the N-type (oldie but goodie) control block, you would now go into the PID and put the “Mode” setting to “Manual” ... the PID’s output (the CV) will now track the Tieback value ... this will allow the operator to turn the potentiometer up and down and manually control the system ...

or ...

for the PD-type (new and improved) control block, you would now go into the PID and put the “A/M Station Mode” setting to “Manual” ... the PID’s output (the CV) will now track the Tieback value ... once again, this will allow the operator to turn the potentiometer up and down and manually control the system ...

in many systems the Tieback feature is not used ... in those cases a value of “0” (zero) is entered for the Tieback setting ... this basically just turns the Tieback feature off ...