FactoryTalk View SE data logging problems

yrret0715

Hi all,

I am a total beginner struggling to make modifications to other people's work, please forgive me if I could not describe my problem properly.

I have a FactoryTalk Historian running but just run out of available tags, so I would like to try logging through FactoryTalk View Studio - View Site Edition (Network Distributed). The ultimate goal is to have a time based data log in a excel sheet (first row = tag names, first column = time stamps) I tried following different documents and forum threads but ran into problems for all of them.

======
1. I tried following these:

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=64250
http://www.scribd.com/doc/212048625/VIZ07-FactoryTalk-View-SE-Lab-Manual#scribd (starting p98)

FT Administration Console->Tool->FT Diagnostics->Setup->Destination Setup->ODBC Database
(a) For data source, I tried both File Data Source and System Data Source
How do I determine which one I should use? No of these combined with the later options worked for me.
(b) For Driver, I tried Driver do Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Excel Driver (*.xls), Microsoft Excel Driver (*.xls, *.xlsx, *.xlsm, *.xlsb), and Microsoft Text Driver (*.txt, *.csv)
Since I don't have any idea what the Target Table should look like in each case, so I tried a little bit of everything.
For the first three drivers, I tried creating an excel sheet but ran into errors later in Data Log Models in FT View Studio as described in the thread of the first link (Column#n invalid)
For the last one, I tried following the thread but failed to understand what are the exact steps.

Despite the problems above, when I tried to open the component under Data Log Models, nothing but an error message popped up:
FactoryTalk View Datalog Editor
The server 'test' in area 'RNA://$Global/test' is out of service

I thought the problem was similar to the one described in the follow thread:
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=67424