Importing Tags into PanelView 1000 Performance Plus

alive15

Good afternoon, I am new to programming the PanelView series from AB and need some help with getting my tags to work on the HMI created by OEM.

I have added about 5 tags to my Studio logix 5000 v32 program. Then, I created numeric display* and tied these numeric displays* to those 5 tags by manually typing in the tag name into the "value" box in connection tab and left the polarity blank. After creating the runtime app, I downloaded into the HMI. I can see the numeric display box, but can't see the numbers from my PLC.

Also, another issue I'm having is I can't find a list of all the other tags being used on the HMI? When I double click any buttons that the OEM created, I can see the tag they used. So when I type in my tag in the same format for my numeric display, it did not show up with the value (I see 4 asteriks instead of my 4 numbers). If there is a database I can just open up and view all available tags so I can select one, that would be helpful as well. I thought clicking the 3 dots below "tag" in connections tab would load it up, but I only see two folders: one for the PLC, the other for system. The PLC folder is empty???

Any help appreciated, thanks.

*Edit

It sounds like you haven't setup the communications yet for your station. Near the bottom of the tree in the Explorer tab, you will see either RSLinx Enterprise or FactoryTalk Linx depending on the version you are running. Expand that and you will see Communication Setup. When you double click that the Communcation Setup menu appears. This is where you tell Studio where to find your tags.