You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 9th, 2018, 11:53 PM   #1
neeraj194
Member
India

neeraj194 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 2
Interlock, E stop and saftey relay.

Hi all i'm a beginner in automation filed I need help with safety relays.
How to integrate interlocking switches(dual channel) and E stop(dual channel) to cut off a single motor using safety relay.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2018, 04:14 AM   #2
ivo.maenen
Member
Belgium

ivo.maenen is offline
 
ivo.maenen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 619
Short answer:

read the manual of the safety-relay. By the way what safety relay do you use? And the other components: interlock switches, E-stops and also the relays?

Fence-guarding and E-stop should be different safety relays (classic safety-relay) but if you use programmable safety-relay (eg pnoz multi) of an safety-relay with safety-IO-cards than you can combine them in one 'safety-relay-system'.

Long answer:

Safety requires some good training provinding you knowledge. eg. The relay('s) should have an NC iintegrated inside the relay (no auxillary-block allowed) and this according to a certain standard (mirror-contacts).

You (and best also others) should make a risc-assessment. A part of this assessment will give you information if this safety-relay should be wired as a single of a redundant system.

Not following the long road can make you end up in jail if something goes wrong.

But here you can ask question but there will be many things to think about if you want to do it professionaly.
__________________
Assumptio mater errorum est.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2018, 05:21 AM   #3
neeraj194
Member
India

neeraj194 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 2
Interlocks, E stop and saftey relay.

thank you ivan.maenen for the reply. Actually this is an upcoming project we havent yet selected the components. I've gone through siemens safety relay manuals and what i found was,I need 2 contactor's if I am using E stop in a dual channel manner (using 2 NC contacts ). I'm also using interlocks to cut off the same motor so do i need another set of safety relay and contactors ?
  Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2018, 10:37 AM   #4
ivo.maenen
Member
Belgium

ivo.maenen is offline
 
ivo.maenen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by neeraj194 View Post
thank you ivan.maenen for the reply. Actually this is an upcoming project we havent yet selected the components. I've gone through siemens safety relay manuals and what i found was,I need 2 contactor's if I am using E stop in a dual channel manner (using 2 NC contacts ). I'm also using interlocks to cut off the same motor so do i need another set of safety relay and contactors ?
Because interlocking 'fence-guarding' and E-stops serve a safety function: yes.

If you are using classic saftey relays you should use a (third) master-safety-relay. Because of this extra cost you can start to think about a modulair-safety relay if you have 3 or 4 safety functions.

I atteched 3 pdf's:

master-SR_1 and _2: normal situation (1 safty relay, mind you the photo is an example and not belonging to the schematic's involved)
master-SR_3: the master safety relay-concept
Attached Files
File Type: pdf master-SR_1.pdf (284.2 KB, 26 views)
File Type: pdf master-SR_2.pdf (158.6 KB, 17 views)
File Type: pdf master-SR_3.pdf (48.2 KB, 19 views)
__________________
Assumptio mater errorum est.

Last edited by ivo.maenen; March 10th, 2018 at 11:04 AM. Reason: attechment added
  Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2018, 01:37 AM   #5
Jeev
Member
Australia

Jeev is offline
 
Jeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 438
Have you done a Risk Assessment on the system? The difference between a PLe Category 1 stop, and PLc Category 0 stop can be a number of parts, and a lot of cost.

What is the outcome of your Risk Assessment? What Stop Category does the application require? Which architecture category does it require?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eaton easy512-dc-rc setup for conveyer noobie questions freakaftr8 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 114 October 24th, 2014 10:32 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.


.