Automation Direct Modbus TCP

JACMAN

Hello everyone,
I have been pulling my hair out on this one. I have been unsucessful in communicating Modbus TCP to a Eurotherm Data recorder using an Automation Direct D0-06 PLC. I have all but exhausted any tech support from either manufacture. The PLC is the master and the Eurotherm Data recorder would be the slave. I'm using the H0-Ecom100 ethernet card running through an ethernet cable to the Eurotherm. I have upgraded firmware in the processor to the latest automation direct has out. I have used the examples in the manual chapter 5 (in testing). I have converted the modbus address using Automation direct's conversion sheet (decimal to octal). Can anyone offer me any advice on this matter? Any helpful advice would be very appreciated.

I am by no means an expert on this stuff, but I'll bet that you need to put an Ethernet switch...I was just on the phone w/ AD tech and they said make sure that you go into NET EDIT and change the peer to peer table for the modbus tcp, which I think you said you had done. Check it again. You will need a cross-over cable unless you add a switch...

David

I agree with David. Running point to point, you either need a crossover cable or a switch with straight cables.

Dan

Plug a pc in one end and try to ping the other that will show wether you need a switch or cross-over cable. Have a look onthe net for a shraeware called SimplyModbus it has a demo mode (or buy if think it's good) I've used it to test comms reasonably easy to set up and lets you change stuff on the fly (big-endian etc)

Go to this site --> http://www.wireshark.org/