tia portal v15 with v20 drives

dahnuguy

Tia Portal V15.1
CPU 1515-2 PN

Profinet cable to remote interface

PROFINET interface
CM PtP RS422/485 HF

485 wiring to each drive from Cm PTP card.

6 V20 VFDs connected by 485 to the CM PtP RS422/485 HF.

found it
P2011[0] USS address Sets the unique address for the inverter.
Range: 0 to 31 (factory default: 0)

so I assume then that the USS Drive function handles the rest of it and automagically puts the drive commands to the drive and returns the drive feedback to the specified DB...

Last edited:
Disclaimer: I have no personal experience with V20.

According to this manual:
https://cache.industry.siemens.com/...erating_instructions_complete_en-US_en-US.pdf
The USS drive address is set by parameter P2011.

According to this application example:
https://support.industry.siemens.com/cs/de/en/view/109480894
The V20 drives are not directly part of the TIA project.

I can see how one should expect that both PLCs and drives and the interconnection should be part of the same TIA project. That is how it works with other drives such as Sinamics G120 or S120. I guess that is not supported with V20. I dont have V20 in my hardware catalog in TIA. Not sure if they can be added somehow.

Apart from that, I cannot wait for TIA to reach version V20. That will be fun when you search for manuals and sample projects for V20 the TIA programming software or V20 the drive.

Disclaimer: I have no personal experience with V20.

According to this manual:
https://cache.industry.siemens.com/...erating_instructions_complete_en-US_en-US.pdf
The USS drive address is set by parameter P2011.

According to this application example:
https://support.industry.siemens.com/cs/de/en/view/109480894
The V20 drives are not directly part of the TIA project.