Problem Changing IP addresses of Compactlogix L32E and Panelview 1000

Hamburgers

Hello,

I recently changed the IP address of a Compactlogix L32E and an asssociated Panelview 1000. I can ping both of them so I know that the IP addresses have been changed. My problem is that the Panelview is not able to communicate with the Compactlogix. I am an amateur when it comes to Rockwell Automation so I don't know what to try next. I have read that I may need to use Factory Talk Studio to create a new device shortcut to the controller. Does anybody know if it a required step to use Factory Talk Studio to create a new shortcut? I changed the IP address of the controller using RSLinx and RSlogix5000. I changed the IP address of the Panelview using the Terminal Settings on the panel. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

The HMI doesn't know the IP of the controller. If, on the HMI you can get out to the system settings you can change the target IP but it may only be temporary. I'm not near one right now so I can't lead you through it but it's in the RSLinx Enterprise settings (I believe.) I hope someone with more recent experience can help. Using Factorytalk will be the more permanent solution though.

If you got to the terminal control panel follow this:

Select Terminal Settings > Networks and Communications > RSLinx Enterprise Communications. Select the Ethernet driver and modify the IP. I don't know if it will last through a power cycle though. Then restart the application.

Last edited:
Bernie,

I can't remember exactly what I did, but I think I did what you recommended. I went through all the settings I could on the Panelview and I even changed the IP address of the controller on the Panelview. I also power cycled the PV a few times and verified that the changed IP addresses were still in it. Thanks for your reply.