ladder logic help for studio 5000

pittlei

Hi, I am new to PLC with computer science background in scripting. I am very lost in the ladder logic here.

I took a 5 seconds video clip since I can not upload here.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=14tHLuyQXKtGYpJpjEsPjXMOTcQQq6aYI

here I have a very simple ladder diagram :
rung 0 : left side: XIC , right side : MOV: test1 to result1
rung 1 : right side: CPT result1 = 1000
rung 2 : left side: GRT result1 > 90, right side : testlight
rung 3 : right side: CPT result1 = 2000

for the variable above, test1=0 is real , result1 is real and testlight is bool

observation:

1. the result1 value remained at 2000 most of time and changed to 1000 periodically (shown in the video )
2. the testlight in rung 2 is on all the time
3. if I changed rung 2 to GRT result1 > 1500, the testlight in rung 2 is off all the time. ( though the result1 value was shows as 2000)

Question:
what are the values shown on the ladder diagram ? for example, result1 in rung 0 should be 0, result 2 in rung 1 should be 1000, and rung 2 should be 2000. Why results in all rungs show the same value as 2000?

thank you

It's continuously scanning in cycles and the display isn't fast enough. You have three rungs all trying to put different values into result1 during each scan.

Rung 0 moves 0 into result1.
Rung 1 moves 1000 into result 1 (you have no formula, just a number)
Rung 3 moves 2000 into result 1 (you have no formula, just a number)
Rung 0 moves 0 into result1.
Rung 1 moves 1000 into result 1 (you have no formula, just a number)
Rung 3 moves 2000 into result 1 (you have no formula, just a number)

and so on....

For help on an instruction, click on it then press F1. It'll bring up a help window with a description of how that instruction works and an example or two.

Last edited:
let us say, I have a 8 channel AI module in slot 1.

in rung 0, MOV I:1.1 to variable1
some other rungs here
in rung 90, MOV I:1.1 to variable2