Profi-bus or Ethernet

Shailesh10

Hi :) friends & Experts & Gurus,

I am new to the PLC networking. Can U please give some points of differentiation or advatages/dis-advantages about when to use Profi-bus & when to use Industrial Ethernet connection.

If u can explain this in context of a configuration where many I/Os & remote I/os in field are there.Connecting to a Processor through bus. Again few HMIs and servers are located at upper level on a redundant bus. I also want this entire system to be connected to another plant having similar system having its own processor, I/Os and HMIs & Servers.

Please let me know what is preferable as a choice between Ethernet & Profi-bus at...

A. communication between I/Os & its processor
B. Communication between Server, HMI & processor
C. Communication between one plant to another and is it preferable at Server level or field level.

I hope i could be clear in my query..
Your expert opinions are awaited.
Thanking you...
:cool: Shailesh

Shailesh10,

Over the last few years, the practice at the various plants I worked at was to install both. This was because in the past the two were used for different purposes, and also Ethernet was often just not good enough for field bus jobs.
Ethernet is good for moving around large amounts of data that is not time critical, and Profibus was good at moving around many small, but time critical, chunks of data. Obviously, Profibus was best for machine control, and Ethernet for sending that word document to your boss.

This situation is changing. Ethernet is getting faster and more stable, and can now generally handle most field bus requirements. Profibus now also runs on Ethernet (called 'Profinet'), with converters to allow you to switch between blue and purple hoses.