Ethernet/IP using RSLogix 500 on a SLC 5/05 to a Servo Controller

timryder

Ok,

So I have a controller from a company called "Aerotech". I purchased an upgrade to allow the controller to communicate via Ethernet/IP. It's for a project i'm working on. I also had to upgrade my 5/05 to firmware 10 in order for the EIP tools to be enabled in RSLogix 500. SO what I want to do is send a message (Ultimately a string of Ascii data) through EIP to this Servo Controller. I have never used Ethernet/IP before and am totally at a loss for where to begin...

Can anyone help me set this whole thing up? I'm in DESPERATE need of help!

Thanks in advance

Tim

Why wont this work here? I have tried so many different methods but it never enables... what I am doing wrong?

| ___EEM__________________ |
| | | |
| I:2/4 |control block N7:10| |
|----] [--------------------------|control block length 58|-|
| |________________________| | | |
| |

Within my setup screen I have the following settings

Data Table Address (Received): 0 (Send Data): N7:20

If you put ladder tags around your diagrams (or select the diagram and click the contact looking thing on the toolbar) the spacing will be preserved.

Let me start this by saying I haven't used an SLC in so long that my software doesn't even mention and EEM instruction. So take my advice for what it's worth.

It seems a bit odd to me that you have your control block starting address as N7:10 but are reading from N7:20 for your send data. From what I can tell it looks like your control block is 58 words long. That means N7:10 - N7:68 are off limits. While reading shouldn't be an issue it leads me to believe you may be accessing that block in other locations.

Keith