S-Curve Profile for Motor Control Project

furkandqe

Hello everyone, this is my first question in this forum and I'm still learning about these matters. I apologize if I make any mistakes.

I am driving an asynchronous motor using an S7-1200 PLC and ATV32 Inverter. I am measuring the speed of the motor using an encoder. In my PLC program, I have written a PID control algorithm. I send the necessary frequency to the inverter with the PID output and can achieve control.

Now I want to provide speed and motion control with an s-curve profile. With the start position, end position, acceleration, and maximum speed information, can I create a profile and execute the motion by inputting the speed information into the PID I've created?

I would greatly appreciate your help. Thank you.

Take JRW's advice. Use any built in software that generates s curves. I know the S-1500 has it because we have tested it. It isn't that good but we have talked to Siemens and they said the PLC is supposed to work with a Siemens drive that actually does most of the work and is MUCH better suited for the task.

Don't try to go cheap on this.
Do not try to write s-curve software on your own. This should scare you.
https://deltamotion.com/peter/wxMaxima/Seg1234567.html
That is just one example. There are many. What happens if the move is short so the desired speed is never reached? What if the desired acceleration is never reached?

I would also take JRWs advice, far simpler and more rigorously tested that rolling your own.

However it is possible, I've made my own for use with Siemens PLCs and they've been operating machines around the world for 10+ years without issue. It all depends on the application an how advanced you need it to be.

A simple ramp function generator maybe all you need, but again, siemens has some prebuilt functions, that are easier and well documented.

A 1200 using the standard siemens motion control blocks is good enough for positioning with an S-Curve.