GE Fanuc 90-30 Basic (stupid) Question

smutza

I am fairly new to GE Fanuc 90-30 PLC’s. I have 18 PLC units all connected on a network. I have very little communication between my various PLC’s. Most of my remote communication is to our Wonderware system. I understand how to communicate back and forth between the PLC and Wonderware. The problem I have is understanding how to communicate between the various PLC units. For example, I receive an input on one of my PLC (named SCCH2) I want to see that input on a different PLC (named SCCB) so I continue my logic in the SCCB PLC. I know it has something to do with a “G” point. (I points are inputs, Q points are outputs and M points are internal relays) What I am not sure of is how to tie the two “G” points in the two PLC’s together so when the “G” point in SCCH2 is high, it will be seen as high in SCCB. I know that I am missing something simple and obvious, but any help anyone can give would be appreciated. Any starting point would help. By the way, I am using LogicMaster 90 to program my PLC's Thank you in advance

I know you can define global data for use on ethernet,, but I'm not sure if that works with the SNP serial protocol. We have always configured message blocks for communicating specific data to networked 90/30 PLCs.

Before I can answer your question on how to pass data back and forth between the PLCs on the network, I need to know what type of network you have.

For the type of system you're describing, it could be ethernet, which would require configuring channels on your ethernet modules (IC693CMM321). It could also be a Genius network, which is a proprietary GE network. In that case, I'll need to know whether you're using a Genius Communications Module (IC693CMM302) or a Genius Bus Controller (IC693BEM331).

If you use Logicmaster software to make a backup copies of the files for a couple of the PLCs and post them here, I can probably help to steer you in the right direction.