You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 25th, 2018, 10:11 PM   #1
DamianInRochester
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

DamianInRochester is offline
 
DamianInRochester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 1,258
RSLogix5000 Copy Tag Values from one program to another

I have two separate programs open in two instances of RSLogix5000.

Each program has a user defined tag that is a large array of a user defined data type.

I need to copy the values of just this array from one program to another. I tried dragging and dropping but it did not work. I tried copy and paste but that did not work either. Any ideas on how to copy these values from one program to another?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2018, 10:17 PM   #2
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,780
There is a utility call "Tag Upload/Download Tool" but I think it requires a licensed version of RSLinx to act as OPC server. I have never used it but I think it does include the functionality you require. There was a thread on this subject recently in which some members offered other methods...I'll see if I can locate that thread.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2018, 10:20 PM   #3
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,780
Recent thread:
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthr...ghlight=python

Old one with a different method:
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=67865
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2018, 12:49 AM   #4
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is offline
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,008
It sounds like these programs are offline, assuming that is the case, go to the Edit Tags window on both programs. Delete the tag from program 1, copy/paste the tag from program 2 into program 1. The values will come with it.

If my assumption is incorrect, let us know...
  Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2018, 04:59 AM   #5
DamianInRochester
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

DamianInRochester is offline
 
DamianInRochester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 1,258
Thanks Guys.

dmroeder your assumption is correct.

After Okie's post I figured out that I could paste it in the target tags if i went all the way down to the last row. When I pasted it in it created a copy of the same tag but with all the values. Then I was just able to just a quick program to copy the values from the copied tag into the original tag. Practically the same thing you were suggesting only I didn't have to delete the original.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2018, 07:42 AM   #6
danny.michael
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

danny.michael is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 204
You can add a dummy rung in the program you want to copy from, and use one tag from the array on the rung. Doesn't matter what, just one bit will do. Then export the rung. In the program you want to copy to, just import the rung. If the tag already exists, you will need to select "overwrite" from the import dialog. Once the rung is imported, you can delete it. The tag values from the other program will then be in the target program.

I use this method to create tags in a running program. Create the tags in Excel, import into an offline program, use the new tags in a dummy rung (also created in Excel), then export. The exported rung can then be imported into a running program, thus getting around the inability to import tags from a CSV file while the processor is running.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2018, 05:07 PM   #7
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 4,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmroeder View Post
..... Delete the tag from program 1, copy/paste the tag from program 2 into program 1. The values will come with it....
later posts say this works, and is new to me...

handy to know, for the future, thanks dmroeder
__________________
___________________________
ControlLogix & SLC Training
a-b train ltd.
abtrain@tiscali.co.uk
www.abtrain.co.uk
tel: 07506 73 9999
nil illegitimi carborundem


  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confused by DINT tag program method. Need help. Dera bsee LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 February 1st, 2017 02:53 PM
Does Denying Future Access Allow Online Edits Secpcb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 June 20th, 2016 06:22 AM
RSLogix 5000 Multiple Aliases to Same Tag davidc100 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 May 27th, 2014 08:04 PM
How to copy data in a tag to another tag in Controllogix cdmeieril LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 9th, 2008 04:13 PM
Downloading to ControlLogix without overwriting Tag values ihc LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 19th, 2006 03:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


.